Bitterbarn’s Weblog

aka “The Bull” (some content not suitable for children or religous zealots)

MAC

It is time to confess.

I bought a MAC. Now, Now; wait a minute let me explain. It was time for a new computer. My “old” one which I built had reached its limit; as all good computers do. I almost bought a MAC last time. I was at best buy and they had a sweet deal going on. Sure, I may have fell prey to the 24″ HD screen.

Have I been happy with my purchase? To be honest, the second day I had it I almost took it back. I was really pushing it hard; bringing up multiple applications at once while trying to do RAM heavy media projects. It did freeze up. I had to reset it about 5 times that day. But, once I learned some simple things like where exactly certain files were being stored, and some “hot keys” ie ctrl c for copy on the pc is slightly different on the MAC. I have become pleased. Boot up is lighting quick and working between multiple application was very quick. I never really was able to get Msft Outlook to work right for me but on my MAC it was a breeze. When I plugged it in (and really that’s all you do) it immediately said “which of the following networks would you like to use”? And, my home network was one of the choices. As far as gaming goes , other than the graphics it has not proved itself yet. I can also put windows on the machine which I will do tonight.

There have been some social repercussions. My brother quickly exclaimed that I am now dead to him. Some co-workers (the non mac users) have proclaimed their disgust. On the other hand I have met several closet MAC users who have befriended me. I will not encourage you to by a MAC. You must come to this on your own. But, don’t deny that you haven’t thought about it.

Also I was able to make this straight out of the box( this audio file) no microphone to attach no software nothing just my amazing talent. This piece of software (garage-band) gives me ideas.
And here it is

The bull

November 20, 2007 - Posted by | Uncategorized |

6 Comments »

  1. Dead I say!

    Next time you come to visit I’ll show you what a real machine, more power, less cost, can do.

    Comment by BugHunter | November 20, 2007 | Reply

  2. Alas, I too am a convert. Every day, sometimes multiple times the same day, I got “critical updates” from microsoft and my anti-virus software. Each time the machine ran slower and slower…and s-l-o-w-e-r…

    So I bit the bullet and bought a Mac. It worrked so well I bought my wife one. It’s been nearly 2 years since she crashed hers- a daily occurrence with the win-DOZE machine. So last year I bought one for my mother- a mildly computer savvy octgenarian. No crashes. Nada. Zip. Nearly a year of continuous up time.

    Is Mac better? I have no idea. But these macs have saved me hundreds of hours of maintenance time over the last 1-2 years. Maybe I’m a luddite but I prefer to use my computer rather than work on it.

    Viva la Mac!

    Comment by aegis1 | November 21, 2007 | Reply

  3. Depends on whether you use just a couple of progams, and zero games, or many many programs.

    I play games, and use more than just the internet/email and photoshop.

    😀

    Comment by BugHunter | November 21, 2007 | Reply

  4. Last night I partioned my hard drive and place win xp home on my “MAC”. my “intel-mac”?? hmmm., so when I bring up my windows os on my intel- mac is it now a PC??? or is it still a MAC? hmm. its sexy like a mac. I am confused. when I download files while in windows do I click on MAC or PC. Another reason I am confused is that the RAM, Viedo card. and Processor are all hardware that I could put into a PC (non-intergrated). so you tell me?

    Comment by the bull | November 21, 2007 | Reply

  5. The temptation to buy a Mac is like the temptation to join the darkside, it seems very sexy, smart, and powerful, but when you consider that most libs own one, hopefully you’ll think twice about the path you will be heading down. First it’s a Mac, what will be next in your life, maybe you’ll buy a volkswagon Beetle or a hybrid, then you’ll be listening to Al Frankin on Air America in you Libmobile, and finally you’ll be voting for Hillary and making statements like “the only war going well is the one on the environment.” Use the force Luke.

    Chris

    Comment by Cuzin CO | November 24, 2007 | Reply

  6. Thats hillarious, I know youve been “down that road before” 🙂

    Comment by bitterbarn | November 24, 2007 | Reply


Leave a Reply

