Bitterbarn’s Weblog

aka “The Bull” (some content not suitable for children or religous zealots)

Rich Dad and UPS go on notice.

Dearest fellow consumers:

I am writing to tell you that due to my recent experience with both of the afore mentioned corporations it is now time to shun our purchase power from their unscrupulous pockets. On Thursday May 29th I was trying to purchase a game made by the Rich Dad company. Rich Dad is a company owned by Robert Kiyosaki; He authored the book “Rich Dad, Poor Dad” Teaching others how to get rich via self dicipline and other good values. He now sells books and games through his on line store.

It was important for me to have the game shipped to be as quickly as possible as my family is together this weekend and we wanted to play it. The game can only be purchased via his website as he does not allow retailers to sell the game. (greedy greed head) I was told that I could purchase next day shipping for an additional 66.00 the game is about 190.00 to begin with. Being the quick fix person I am I of course purchased the next day shipping on Thursday 1600 Utah time to be shipped from Nevada.

Now its Friday night and it has not arrived. After calling the company they basically confessed that they treated my purchase like all other purchases and waited until the next day (today) to ship it. Today they tell me I will not receive the product I purchased until Monday. grrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrr. freakin grrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrr. I explained that when someone pays and extra 70 bucks to get a certain shipping they should see to it that it is done right. After calling UPS they told me they don’t care and that it is up to the business to warn the consumer when the actual product of shipping next will not be achieved.

I feel like this is another case of capitolism strikes again. You see rich dad doesn’t care if I am a satisfied customer or not, even though I payed 30% more for their product to be shipped to me special. I’ve decided in the end that this is more likely the way that Robert Kiyosaki made his millions. (by ripping off customers). I am told that in capitolism my only re-course is to right a nasty blog to discourage others from doing business with these unscrupulous businesses.

UPDATE UPS just posted the detail that it was not picked up until 1730 this evening.. (after I called and complained, intresting eh)  strange makes me think UPS does do pickups after 1700 at that warehouse.

May 30, 2008 - Posted by | Uncategorized | ,

10 Comments »

  1. When am I going on notice? You’ve almost called out all of humanity at this point.

    Comment by Andrea | May 31, 2008 | Reply

  2. Did you ask for a refund of the shipping fee and they refused? Call the better business bureau. So, what is this awesome game you HAD to have? Do I need one?

    Comment by Kathleen | May 31, 2008 | Reply

  3. Hello There! This is your friendly Southwest Airlines Flight Attendant! I was going through old posts and found my post referring to your Fear of Flying! Just wondering if you’ve ever taken a flight since? Looks like you and your family are doing great! Just wanted to say hi! Oh, and I’ve made a note not to order from Rich Dad or to believe a word that comes from any UPS drivers mouth!! Looks like you no longer live in Middle of Nowhere, Texas!

    Comment by Ritchinlove | June 2, 2008 | Reply

  4. Matt,

    Your move back to you Utah’s higher altitude must have incapacitated your ability to think rationally. You went out and bought a $195 DOLLAR BOARD GAME THAT YOU WILL ONLY PROBABLY PLAY ONCE OR TWICE. Let’s make this really simple, send the game back and get your money back, then realize that, yes, you work for the man right now, and that will not change until you own your own hospital (unlikely) or have your own practice. If Mr. Kiyosaki’s principles were so easy to employ such that you only needed to watch a few dvd’s and play his outrageously expensive board game printed on paper not worth more than the toilet tissue I wipe my A** with, all the people I know who profess his doctrines would be rich, but they’re not. If it were that easy to get rich everybody would be doing it, yes I know our society teaches us (brainwashes us that we must get a JOB and work for the man) BS.

    Comment by cuzin Chris | June 2, 2008 | Reply

  5. Here’s what you do. Call Rich Dad’s customer service.

    Explain simply what you purchased and the extra you paid for next day shipping. Tell them directly that you did not receive the next day shipping. Then tell them that they have a choice. They can either A) refund you the $66 you spent for the shipping, or B) you will call your credit card company to report the fraud. Tell them that your credit card company will be more than happy to chargeback the original credit card purchase, leaving Rich Dad, without the $190 for the game and the $66 for the shipping.

    If this were a face to face transaction like the old days you would have traded something (wheat, a pig, dollars, whatever) for something else. Because you don’t take possession immediately when a credit card is involved, the federal government put a consumer protection mechanism in place for situations exactly like this.

    Comment by BugHunter | June 2, 2008 | Reply

  6. At least it sounds like you have a recourse and I’m glad to hear chris thinks your decision has something to do with the altitude in UT…I bet it NEVER would have happened in TX!

    Comment by April | June 6, 2008 | Reply

  7. Matt…recent experience with UPS…ordered item…1st delivery…never arrived, UPS accidently destroyed it and had to contact company for another one…2nd delivery…box partially destroyed and empty…called company, new one shipped…3rd delivery…item bent, refused delivery!!!So much for UPS!!! Should the company try another shipping service?

    Comment by Connie Olsen | June 14, 2008 | Reply

  8. good to hear from you Connie.
    It is madding isn’t it. The Way our economy works allows a huge company like UPS to, Not provide the service you pay for.

    I like bughuters solution. basically he says to call your credit card company and report fraud. In your case it seems like the company is treating you right by trying over and over to resend the item. If you are paying ups separately from your payment for the item you can report fraud to your credit card company or at least threaten to.

    Comment by the bull | June 14, 2008 | Reply

  9. deskg rimhapoc vdzu rujygtnzo yzsmcg wtslzmgvb xbjrhntp

    Comment by emls pexhsbny | September 11, 2008 | Reply

  10. I do trust all of the ideas you’ve presented to your post.
    They’re really convincing and will certainly work. Still, the
    posts are too brief for newbies. Could you please prolong them
    a bit from subsequent time? Thanks for the post.

    Comment by Cheap day Car insurance | July 28, 2014 | Reply


Leave a Reply

