Bitterbarn’s Weblog

aka “The Bull” (some content not suitable for children or religous zealots)

Battlestar opening theme

I think one reason the show has gained such cult like popularity is the opeining song.   listen to this.   the one at the bottom is my favorite.  its mezmorizing when you watch it in real life.

 

  I guess he wasn’t into the italian so much here are the actuall lyrics and translation.

oṃ bhūr bhuvaḥ svaḥ
tát savitúr váreniyaṃ
bhárgo devásya dhīmahi
dhíyo yó naḥ pracodáyāt

One possible translation of the Sanskrit into English reads:

O earth, atmosphere, heaven:
May we attain that excellent glory of Savitr the God:
So may he stimulate our prayers.

 

    I like this one.

March 1, 2009 - Posted by | Uncategorized | ,

6 Comments »

  1. You should try playing them both at the same time, it take a little skill but it sounds realy cool.

    Comment by OJ | March 1, 2009 | Reply

  2. Hi
    I stumbled across your blog on LDS BLOGS. I thought you mighe be interested in a site my wife and I just built called MormonsMadeSimple.com, which uses simple, explanatory videos to explain the Mormon faith. Feel free to feature any of these videos on your blog, or just share them with non-member friends. We’re hoping these videos will be missionary tools to help members share their beliefs. Anyway, sorry to spam your comments section. I couldn’t find any contact information for you on your blog.

    – Doug & Laurel

    Comment by Doug & Laurel | March 2, 2009 | Reply

  3. I think that I have complained repeatedly that their opening credits are the worst part of the show because there is nothing to it catchy that reaches out to grab you. Sorry to be so contrary. Then again I’m at work and not listening to it, but I think I’ve heard it enough in the past.

    Comment by Andrea | March 3, 2009 | Reply

  4. your are confused, they have two openers. the opening credits. and then the opening main.

    Comment by bitterbarn | March 4, 2009 | Reply

  5. If only I had a dollar for every time I came here! Superb post.

    Comment by Tonya Brennan | May 28, 2010 | Reply

  6. Hah I am honestly the first comment to this incredible read?

    Comment by Casey Ponce | May 31, 2010 | Reply


Leave a comment